Posted by: Wendy | January 28, 2009

Aweigh We Go!

The day Tripp and I came home from the hospital.

The day Tripp and I came home from the hospital.

I’ve been fighting this “baby weight” for almost a year now and I’m doing okay, but it’s time to step it up a notch or two.  I’ve joined a challenge at the gym, and now I’ve joined the challenge Cool Zebras is holding!  The Aweigh challange seems fun and easy enough, and I’m looking forward to the giving and receiving of all the virtual support!

I know why I’m overweight right now.  It’s because I had babies.  And because I like food.  A lot.  Okay, fine.  It’s also because I like to be lazy.  I’ve been trying to work on all those things and when I weighed on Monday I really saw some results!

I knew I had lost some weight the first couple of weeks of December because I was so busy with the move and all the cleaning.  But then, Christmas week and New Years week I was so bad!  I know I gained a little of the weight back but I was going to the gym and trying to get back on track. 

Monday I forced myself to go to the gym.  I weighed when I got there and had lost seven pounds!  I was shocked and energized to see such a big drop!  As I was working out I realized that means I’ve lost fifty pounds since I had Tripp!  I’m trying not to think about how much further I have to go but I’ll tell you anyway.  To get back to where I was when Thomas and I got married, I need to lose seventy more pounds.  I can’t believe how far I let myself go!  One thing I can say is I carry the weight pretty well.  It’s not like it’s all in my belly or my legs or whatever.  It’s spread out everywhere.  That’s actually pretty depressing too because it’s not like I can try to hide or camoflage one area.

Anyway, for the challenge, my goals this week are to keep a food diary and go to the gym four days instead of three.  I also want to do my extra floor exercises each time.  I do fifty crunches, fifty lower ab leg raises (or whatever you call them), and fifty butt lifts.  There’s a lot more I need to work on, but that’s a start for this week.

Here are some photos of me and my progress!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

At Tessa's birthday party last May
At Tessa’s birthday party last May
When it first started coming off a little.

When it first started coming off a little.

Tessa took the picture and it gives me more of a double chin than I really have.  Dammit.
Tessa took the picture and it gives me more of a double chin than I really have. Dammit.

Responses

  1. I think you look awesome. 50 pounds is amazing. If you have the discipline to lose that, then I know you can stick with this!

  2. We can do it! Thanks for joining the challenge Wendy. I’ll get your post linked up!

  3. good for you!

  4. 50 lbs off is a big deal! Congrats. I need to get on the ball and start doing it myself. Oh and I can’t do a damn thing about my double chin in pictures, I think it is genetic.

  5. I’m in the challenge too! Glad to meet you!

    And I wanted to let you know that you are doing awesome. It is possible — I have lost almost 100 pounds since 2007 on my own. Exercise, being accountable through journaling, and eating the right foods really does wonders!

    So off we go! Can’t wait to see what we all look like in 14 weeks.

  6. You’re doing great Wenders! Love the pink t-shirt pic! You should be proud of yerself!

  7. You are adorable!!! Listen, just keep it up, don’t get too discouraged.

  8. You look fabulous!

    (((HUGS)))

    Connie

  9. Looking good, lady!!
    You give me hope.. maybe I can shed that last 20lb or so..

  10. You are doing great!!! I am behind you 100% – you are going to do it!!!!

    Yay Fusspot!!!

    (I’m doing cartwheels and splits in your honor! – Well, not really but if I could do them I would! Honest!)

  11. Looking good, Wendy! Keep up the good work – I am sure most of us are right there with ya!!!

  12. I am all for people challenging themselves…keep it up. Keep in mind though…you have nothing to worry about. You look great!

  13. Oh thats so good 🙂

  14. Wendy, you look great. Your smile reallly lights up your face! Keep it going! 🙂

  15. I just found you on Twitter … lucky me. Truly, you are an absolutely BEAUTIFUL woman. And Oh My Goodness, three little gems so close in age too.

  16. okay lady it think it is time for a new blog post don’t ya think?

  17. Your so darn gorgeous,it’s sickening 😉 lol no but seriously I was reading ur blog and I was like ohhh I so relate to what she’s saying. For me,it’s not cause of after baby weight,it’s after ‘new’ medication weight..UGHHH lol..and moving from a whole nother city for the first time in my life=stress,and slacking off ever since. I like comfort food when I stress,blahblahblah lol U don’t have double chin in last pic to me. Now if u saw my recent pic on twitpic,i’ve got the double chin,queen of double chin hehe


Leave a comment

Categories